Lake County Motorist

Suburban Chicagoland commuter and motorist weblog

Driving through the clouds

Just when I proclaimed Monday and Tuesday to be “Metra weather” days best suited for mass transit, what did I do? I drove to work. Well, now.

Driving tonight was like tunneling through cotton balls and cobwebs: fuzzy and often disorienting. There were “can’t see your hand in front of ya” moments, “can’t see that cyclist pedaling down the middle of the road” moments, and “wait is that a giant pothole YIKES yes it was” moments. I hear there’s a newfangled invention called “foglamps”, but as my car is not equipped with these lamps I resorted to a workaround: high beams, wide eyes and a death grip on the steering wheel.

The fog was a reminder that it’s really not supposed to be 40 degrees outside this time of year, especially the day after a 4-inch snowfall. Sump pumps struggle to keep up with demand. There is flooding in the streets. The Metra viaduct across Deerfield Road was flooded. On the other hand, last week’s snowstorm residue is vanishing from my neighborhood streets. That’s the bright side.

Filed under: Road Conditions, ,

One Response - Comments are closed.

  1. kilax says:

    The fog was so freaky! I can’t imagine driving in it… we couldn’t even see out of our office building downtown… scary!

Best in Firefox

Get Firefox

History

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Wordpress Ads

You may see Google Adsense or other advertisements on this site. The ads are placed there by my host, Wordpress.com. Please be aware that Lake County Motorist does not make any money from those ads, nor are the ads visible to me or my regular readers. This web page explains why.

Beyond Lake County

Blogs

Commuter News

Da Locals

Driving

Gas Prices

General

Issues

Lake County FYI

Mass Transit

Miscellany

Road Geeks

Roads

Roadwork Updates

Traffic

Urban Planning

