Lake County Motorist

Suburban Chicagoland commuter and motorist weblog

The mystery of the crappy commute

Yesterday’s post concluded with me musing as to whether I’d “train it” or “drive it” today. Train or car, which would win the battle of the morning transportation choice?

The winner was: Car. Car because I had a few things to do after work, one of which was possibly attending the Route 120 meeting. Car because Car might have been lonely while I opted for Train all week. But not long after choosing Car this morning, I discovered that Train – even Super Late Train – would have been the better choice.

It must have been Accident Day, for the streets were lousy with ’em. “Tomith” (The Other Motorist In The House) phoned me from Route 83 to report that Route 60 was closed. Closed! To AM 1620 I went, seeking details. Apparently there was a building on fire on Route 60 and the authorities shut down the road.

Aside from the fire, I remember several reports of accidents, stalls and various slowdowns looping endlessly on AM 1620. Gilmer Road was a veritable magnet for motor incidents. There was no fresh snow on the roads this uncommonly sunny morning. Some chain of unfortunate events must have been set into motion, possibly caused by a) potholes b) black ice c) impatient drivers tired of winter road conditions d) all of the above or e) oh, let’s say, rabbit zombies. Something that may not even exist.

The mystery shall remain partially solved, as tomorrow brings a new commute and another opportunity to miss the train – I mean, catch the train. My budget can only handle so many “errands” at a time.

Filed under: Commuting, , ,

Best in Firefox

Get Firefox

History

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Wordpress Ads

You may see Google Adsense or other advertisements on this site. The ads are placed there by my host, Wordpress.com. Please be aware that Lake County Motorist does not make any money from those ads, nor are the ads visible to me or my regular readers. This web page explains why.

Beyond Lake County

Blogs

Commuter News

Da Locals

Driving

Gas Prices

General

Issues

Lake County FYI

Mass Transit

Miscellany

Road Geeks

Roads

Roadwork Updates

Traffic

Urban Planning

